Select Page

National Honor Society

The St. Thomas Aquinas Chapter of the National Honor Society recognizes students who achieve in the areas of leadership, service, scholarship, and character. Members are selected by a Faculty Council and are inducted at a special ceremony to which their parents are invited. Students are required to perform service, have a leadership role, and participate in a group project once they become NHS members. Graduating members will be entitled to wear a gold cord at graduation.

Moderator: Ms. Bridget Kaiser and Ms. Michelle Kempf

During the second semester of each school year, membership is open to sophomores and juniors who have attended the school for the equivalent of one semester and who have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 90 percent.

Students meeting the eligibility requirements are invited to fill out the Student Information Form and return it to the faculty advisor. The selection of each member to the chapter shall be by a majority vote of the Faculty Council. This selection procedure shall be determined by the Faculty Council and shall be consistent with the rules and regulations of the NHS.

On the Student Information Form, the student must list all activities in which he/she participated during high school. The student also needs to include any leadership positions held. These positions could be school, community, or work activities. Community activities also play an important role in being accepted. Church groups, clubs sponsored outside of school as Boy Scouts or Girl Scouts, community art endeavors, etc. should be listed on the form. Also to be included on the form are work experiences, recognitions, and awards. Work may either be paid or as a volunteer.

Students should be aware that there are certain qualities that must be present when he/she applies. Students become eligible for membership the third week of the third quarter of their sophomore year. If a student is not accepted for membership during the sophomore year, the student may reapply the following year if eligibility requirements are fulfilled.

Moderator: Ms. Bridget Kaiser and Ms. Michelle Kempf